Texas is an unfortunate leader when it comes to car crash fatalities. At least one driver has died on the roadway every single day since 2000 in Texas. Driving is dangerous and crashes seem inevitable even for the safest drivers. The crash may not be your fault, either. 1,468 people in 2017 were killed in an accident with drunk drivers. Say you’ve survived a crash but now must file a claim for your injuries or damaged vehicle. You may dread the process and wonder how long it will take.
Fortunately, Texas laws are relatively swift when it comes to investigating claims. Generally, claims must be acknowledged within fifteen days after the claim is filed and claims must be approved or denied within another 15 days once the insurance company receives the information they need. The insurance adjuster may extend their time to as far as 45 days, but they must have good cause.
Reasons an Insurance Company Might Deny a Claim
After completing their investigation, insurers will then decide whether to accept your claim or deny it. If an insurance company tries to delay or avoid paying any compensation, you may need to contact a lawyer. In other cases, insurance companies may deny covering your claim. Reasons for an insurance company to deny a claim include:
- Denying fault. Fault can matter a great deal when it comes to personal injury protection. An insurance company may try to deny that the crash was completely the driver’s fault, in which case the insurance company wouldn’t have to pay the entire claim. If the crash was the victim’s fault, the victim’s insurance would be responsible for paying the claim.
- Denying extent of an injury. Insurance carriers may bring in medical professionals to inspect the extent of bodily damage named on the claim.
- Lack of coverage. Make sure to read through your policy carefully. Some accidents are not covered under general car insurance policies. Your car most likely won’t be covered from vandalism if you don’t have additional theft and vandalism coverage.
- Driving under the influence. Insurers may not provide coverage if you get in an accident while drinking and driving. Not only may your insurance rates go up after a DUI or DWI, but you can also be dropped from your insurer.
- Insurers being unaware of changes. If you buy an expensive car or add expensive parts to your existing car, your insurance most likely won’t provide coverage for these.
- No immediate medical attention. If you’re injured and seek reimbursement for medical expenses, you’re more likely to be reimbursed if you seek help immediately. The longer you wait may mean the less likely your insurance will pay for the expenses.
Some insurance companies will try their hardest to weasel out of paying a claim. If this becomes the case, it may be wise to seek legal help and switch carriers in the long run. Accidents are stressful enough without your insurance company delaying compensation.
After an Accident
When you have an accident, be sure to seek immediate medical attention. Take pictures of everything and have them ready to show to a claims adjuster or lawyer if necessary. Your insurance company will most likely reference you to a body shop where you can repair the car damages, but you can go anywhere you choose. While there are valid reasons an insurance company may not pay a claim, you can always contact legal assistance if you feel as though the insurance company is not paying you enough in comparison to the coverage on your car.
Also Read: Why Buy a Hands-Free Device For Your Car